Album facts: Mind Games

Mind Games is John Lennon's fourth solo album and his first to be entirely self-produced, without any input from Phil Spector. Recording took place at Record Plant Studios, New York in the Summer of 1973. At his time John had begun his 18 month separation from Yoko Ono, also known as his Lost Weekend. 

"Well, first I thought, Whoopee! Bachelor life! Whoopee, whoopee! And then I woke up one day and thought, What is this? I want to go home. But she wouldn't let me come home. That's why it was eighteen months instead of six." - John Lennon

Track listing

Side 1

  1. "Mind Games" – 4:13
  2. "Tight A$" – 3:37
  3. "Aisumasen (I'm Sorry)" – 4:44
  4. "One Day (At a Time)" – 3:09
  5. "Bring on the Lucie (Freda Peeple)" – 4:12
  6. "Nutopian International Anthem" – 0:03

Side 2

  1. "Intuition" – 3:08
  2. "Out the Blue" – 3:23
  3. "Only People" – 3:23
  4. "I Know (I Know)" – 3:49
  5. "You Are Here" – 4:08
  6. "Meat City" – 2:45


Mind Games was released in the US on October 29th, 1973 and November 16th in the UK. The Mind Games single was released simultaneously alongside the album; peaking at number 26 in the UK and number 18 in the US. The album reached number 9 in the US and number 13 in the UK.

"It was originally called Make Love Not War, but that was such a cliché that you couldn't say it anymore, so I wrote it obscurely, but it's all the same story. How many times can you say the same thing over and over? When this came out, in the early Seventies, everybody was starting to say the Sixties was a joke, it didn't mean anything, those love-and-peaceniks were idiots. [Sarcastically] "We all have to face the reality of being nasty human beings who are born evil and everything's gonna be lousy and rotten so boo-hoo-hoo..." "We had fun in the Sixties," they said, "but the others took it away from us and spoiled it all for us." And I was trying to say: No, just keep doin' it." - John Lennon
 Mind Games album cover, created by John Lennon. 

Mind Games album cover, created by John Lennon. 


  • John Lennon – lead, harmony and backing vocals; rhythm, slide and acoustic guitars; clavichord; percussion
  • Ken Ascher – piano, Hammond organ, Mellotron
  • David Spinozza – lead guitar
  • Gordon Edwards – bass
  • Jim Keltner – drums
  • Rick Marotta – drums on "Bring on the Lucie" and "Meat City" (with Keltner)
  • Michael Brecker – saxophone
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow – pedal steel guitar
  • Something Different – backing vocals
  • Roy Cicala, Dan Barbiero – engineers
  • Tom Rabstanek – mastering
Share this post