Album facts: A Collection of Beatles Oldies

On December 10th 1966, the Beatles released A Collection of Beatles Oldies, a compilation album of songs released between 1963 and 1966.

For Christmas of 1963, 1964 and 1965 the Beatles released With the Beatles, Beatles for Sale and Rubber Soul respectively. But Revolver being released in August of 1966 wasn't close enough to Christmas to satisfy EMI. 

EMI wanted a Christmas release for 1966 so a compilation album was made. The only new track on the album was Bad Boy, a song by Larry Williams which had been released in the US in 1965.

Track list

Side one

1. "She Loves You"
2. "From Me to You"
3. "We Can Work It Out"
4. "Help!"
5. "Michelle"
6. "Yesterday"
7. "I Feel Fine"
8. "Yellow Submarine"

Side two

1. "Can't Buy Me Love"
2. "Bad Boy" (Larry Williams)
3. "Day Tripper"
4. "A Hard Day's Night"
5. "Ticket to Ride"
6. "Paperback Writer"
7. "Eleanor Rigby"
8. "I Want to Hold Your Hand"

Share this post