Album facts: Meet The Beatles!

On January 20th 1964, while The Beatles were busy playing 18 days of shows at the Paris Olympia Theatre, Capital Records released the band's second American LP Meet The Beatles!. This release was seen as a way of capitalising on the recent success off I Want to Hold Your Hand hand in the US.

By this time The Beatles had recorded in excess of 35 songs, so there was no shortage of material to compile their second US album. The track list consists mainly of songs from The Beatles' second UK album With the Beatles, as well as This Boy, I Saw Her Standing There and I Want to Hold Your Hand.

Track listing

  1. I Want To Hold Your Hand

  2. I Saw Her Standing There

  3. This Boy

  4. It Won't Be Long

  5. All I've Got To Do

  6. All My Loving

  7. Don't Bother Me

  8. Little Child

  9. Till There Was You

  10. Hold Me Tight

  11. I Wanna Be Your Man

  12. Not A Second Time

Chart success

The album was a huge success, reaching number one on the US Billboard on February 15th, 1964, and remaining there for ten straight weeks. By December 31st 1964 Meet The Beatles! sold well in excess of 4 million copies. 


  • John Lennon – vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica, acoustic guitar, tambourine on "Don't Bother Me"
  • Paul McCartney – vocals, bass guitar, piano on "Little Child", claves on "Don't Bother Me"
  • George Harrison – vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Ringo Starr – vocals, drums, percussion
  • George Martin – piano on "Not a Second Time", organ on "I Wanna Be Your Man"
 Meet The Beatles front cover, 1964.

Meet The Beatles front cover, 1964.

Share this post